top of page
  • Writer's pictureAaron Lee

DES 231

The topic that I have chosen is “Future of the game”. The reason for I have chosen the "Future of the game" for my damin was games are the most growing thing these days. Every day, new games are created and developing. So, nowadays, it is hard to find people who do not play or know the game. Game is like an addiction; even if we finish the game, we try to buy/find the new type of games from the store. We are on the COVID; people are looking for inside activities rather than outside activities. Therefore, social media, games, movies, etc., got famous among people. Also, I spend most of my rest time playing the game. Therefore, I want to know how games might be changed in the future.


and, I searched the timeline about the game for learn about how game is developed.

What I found about the game was technology of the game is coming together and becoming one. Consoles become to play in mutiplayer and PC games become to play in mobile, and mobile (smartphone) becomes to use it for VR device. So, I think that future of games are like using simple device and play with others (mutiplay), and play anywhere.


I go to interview the people who is game developer to find out idea about future of the game. I searched the 30 game developers and create the question and email’s form. I chat with 4 game developers. However only one person answer my questions. One was not respons and other two was want me to pay the money for answer my questions. So, I go to talk with one person nickname “Fire_storm“. We have to used the chat cause of different time situation.



From interview, I could get the idea that peolpe will accept the metaverse world very well and they like to live in a virtual universe. But people want new idea and concept of design fit on the metaverse. However, it is too less idea to create the insights. Therefore, I move on to the research to make insights about future of the game. I focus on to the keywords about VR, AR, XR, metaverse, and game.

And made the key ideas from researches.



Therefore, I can create the +15 insight about the future of the game, and focus on the one insight that looks interesting.



I picked the final insight for "XR can accessed anytime, anywhere with others". When I looked up who, how, why. I develope my insight littlebit to make it relates to my domain. Therefore, final insight is "The game collaborates with XR, and people can access it anytime, anywhere with people who has XR glasses".


I move on to create the future of timeline about the game.


I created the 3 “what if” questions for my final output visualization. So, few questions come out such as “what type of device are they going to use” or “what is the main color of the XR world/metaverse?”, etc.


And then, I go to find some images to help to design visualization. I created the mood board using images to understand clearly. I focuse on to how people's sight will change.

And create the system map about how future of the game going to work.



This is my Scenario using a timeline, mood board, system map, and what if question. (I thought that Scenario = speculative writing. But when I read announcement clearly, it was not.)



Therefore, this is my final output of Visualisation. I used SketchUp for 3D modeling my street and used photoshop for hologram panels, and sketched monsters using devices. My visualisation is trying to show how the future of the game looks like in 2060.

And using the my final insight and scenario, I can create the speculative writing.


More details on Miroboard:

Miroboard:







5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page