top of page
  • Writer's pictureAaron Lee

DES 231 Blog 5

Updated: Aug 23, 2021

As a living being what do you cherish? How do these ideas, beings, things and/or experiences help you navigate through life?

The first thing that I think is important in my life is my parents and friends. I don't think there's anything more important than these two yet.


I immigrated to New Zealand with my family about six years ago. I can assure you it was the day that changed my life. Sometimes I miss my life in Korea, but I don't regret coming to this country. I can only say that a lot of things were hard.

English was hard. When I first came, I had a hard time speaking a sentence of English, and I was stressed and tired of going to school. So sometimes I hated my parents who brought me to this country.




But I was able to endure it because my family was with me. Thanks to you, I got the opportunity to study architecture and design for the first time in New Zealand, and now I am studying design at the university. Now that my parents are back in Korea, I can't get much help, but thanks to you, I have been given an opportunity to study and experience in a new country called New Zealand. So I'll live my whole life, thankfully.

I was able to adapt to school life thanks to my friends. I was the only one who fought in school. No matter how much my parents live together, I had to overcome my school life. It was my friends who helped me with this school life. Korean friends helped me, but foreign friends helped me a lot in school. Perhaps without those friends, I would have lived in New Zealand quietly in school without trying anything. So I have parents and friends to pick the most important thing.


The next important thing is the experience of staying in New Zealand.

I think the experience of coming to New Zealand is very special. Although there was Corona recently, until recently, I was free from Corona, and I participated in a k-festival here in the country and successfully held it with others on August 14. The subject of the design was something that I would not have thought of if I had lived in Korea. Currently, I am a member of the Korean student council called AKSA, and I am fully satisfied with my school life and New Zealand life.

Also, I thought covid-19 was also an experience. This was an issue all over the world, but it allowed me to stay at home and get to know myself, and look back on my life.

I value my family and friends like this, and I think the experience of coming to New Zealand and experiencing covid-19 are turning points in my life.


Bibliography


Tyler, Nix. "Family". Unsplash.com. Unsplash. 29. Nov. 2017,


Sam, Bayle. "international school". Unsplash.com. Unsplash. 9.Oct. 2019.


Ian, Dooley. "new experience". Unsplash.com. Unsplash. 9. Jun. 2017.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page